Restoring world file from root directory

Discussion in 'Community Support' started by adamkade, Sep 3, 2014.

1. adamkade

adamkade New Member

I am a noob at this. A helpful chap from Hostehorde has said : "I've gone ahead and restored a copy of your files from 00:01 MDT on September 2nd, 2014, to the folder "server_restore", located in the root directory of your server."

But I have no idea how to restore from this directory. Each time I ask they simply send me this link which explains how to transfer files from my computer via filevilla. Which is all very fine, but it completely baffles me. When I do try to do anything with it, nothing seems to change anything on multicraft.

I am at a loss as to reload my world since I lost it.

2. adamkade

adamkade New Member

https://www.hosthorde.com/forums/resources/getting-started-with-ftp.31/

I have set up filezilla but have no idea how to use. Hmm I wonder if I should just upload from the "server_restore" directory into the "custom_server.jar". There is no way to know whether this would make things worse. That is the problem. I have no tutorial on this sort of thing so I am going round in circles.

3. Bryan

Bryan Member
    Staff Member

Can you show me a screenshot of the contents of the server_restore directory?

4. adamkade

adamkade New Member

Here is a copy of my server_restore directory. I have copied them to my computer. Also I have deleted files on server and copied over files from server_restore into the directory above that.

Attached Files:

5. Bryan

Bryan Member
    Staff Member

The files in server_restore is everything from the period that it was restored from. If you are just interested in the restored world save:
    1. Stop the server
    2. Rename the current world save so that the server doesn't use it, and you still have it just in case.
      Rename:
      • /world to /world_backup
      • /world_nether to /world_nether_backup
      • /world_the_end to /world_the_end_backup